free web hosting | free website | Business Hosting | Free Website Submission | shopping cart | php hosting




About the INPS

Focus on JMS

Important Announcements

Activities & Photos, 2001 - Present

Archival Photos

Press Statements & Interviews, 2001 - Present

Brief Messages & Letters, 2001 - Present

Articles & Speeches, 2001 - Present

Articles & Speeches, 1991 - 2000


Display of Books

Bibliography 1991 - 2000

Bibliography 1961 - 1990

Documents of Legal Cases

Defend Sison Campaign

Letters to Jose Maria Sison




Issued by the International Network for Philippine Studies
22 June 2008

The International Network of Philippine Studies (INPS) is proud to have sent a delegation to the Third International Assembly (TIA) of the International League of Peoples' Struggle (ILPS). This assembly was successfully held in Hong Kong from 18 to 20 June 2008 . It was guided by the theme, "Strengthen the peoples' struggle, unite to build a new world against imperialist aggression, state terrorism, plunder and social destruction!"

The ILPS General Secretariat reported that 265 delegates, who represented 165 peoples' organizations, attended the assembly. The organizations are based in 30 countries: Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, Burma, Canada, China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan), Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Thailand, The Netherlands, Turkey, Korea, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom and United States.

The Indian poet and political leader Varavara Rao gave the keynote address to underscore the theme of the conference. He had been denied permission to travel by the Indian authorities. Thus, his speech was read by his colleague and compatriot G. N. Saibaba. The keynote speech preceded the approval of the Program of the TIA and the Rules of Participation.

Prof. Jose Maria Sison, chairperson of the International Coordinating Committee (ICC), gave his report by internet video. He cited the most significant achievements and shortcomings of the ILPS since the SIA, the favorable conditions for further strengthening the ILPS, the challenges and urgent tasks. General Secretary Arman Riazi also gave his report, giving further details of ILPS achievements and underlining the bright prospects in further strengthening and building the ILPS. Discussions followed the reports.

A number of amendments to the ILPS Charter were proposed and ratified to respond to current needs and further strengthen the ILPS as a political center of the peoples' anti-imperialist and democratic struggles. Provisions were made to promote the building of national chapters and global region committees and the launching of mass campaigns through the application of the policy and methods of the united front.

ICC chairperson Jose Maria Sison delivered a fitting tribute to honor and thank Crispin "Ka Bel" Beltran, the founding ICC chairperson and honorary chairperson of the ILPS, for his contributions to the working class movement, the people's struggles for national and social liberation and the building of the ILPS in particular. He had passed away on 20 May 2008. The video of "Ka Bel" was played to show the highlights of his life and deeds.

A panel of distinguished speakers spoke before the plenary session. The speech on "Neoliberal Globalization and Labor" which was to be delivered by "Ka Bel" was read by ICC member Elmer C. Labog. Manolis Arkolakis spoke on "US Militarism and War"; Haluk Gerger on "Anti-terror Laws and Human Rights"; Irene Fernandez on "Labor and Migration"; GN Saibaba on "Attacks on Rural Communities and Displacement"and Wahu Kaara on "African People's Resistance to Imperialist Globalization." A lively open forum followed the speeches.

Workshops were held on the 18 concerns of the ILPS. They featured prominent resource persons and produced comprehensive and specific resolutions with highly important information and analysis as well as urgent calls to action. The General Declaration of the TIA included as main text the aforesaid comprehensive resolutions and was approved by the plenary session after principled and vigorous discussions. The new ICC was elected composed of 27 regular members and 8 alternate members.

In its very first meeting, on 21 June 2008, the newly-elected ICC elected its officers to compose the International Coordinating Group (ICG) and made several important decisions for the ICG and the General Secretariat to implement for the purpose of publishing and disseminating the General Declaration, resolutions, programs of action and other documents of the TIA, reinvigorating the ILPS from the level of member-organizations upwards and preparing for the next ICC meeting later this year or early next year.

The ICC reelected as ICC chairperson Prof. Jose Maria Sison, chairperson of Netherlands-based International Network of Philippine Studies. It also elected as Deputy Chairperson G. N. Saibaba of India; as Deputy Chairperson for Internal Affairs Dr. Carol P. Araullo of the Philippines; as Deputy Chairperson for External Affairs Manolis Arkolakis of Greece; as General Secretary Arman Riazi of Iran; as First Deputy General Secretary Elmer Labog of the Philippines; as Second Deputy General Secretary Aliyah Brunner of Austria; as Treasurer Theo Droog of The Netherlands; and as Auditor Malcolm Guy of Canada. ###

You may contact:

Julie de Lima
Executive Director
International Network for Philippine Studies
Postbus 1452
3500 BL Netherlands
Tel. 00-31-30-8894584
Fax: 00-31-847145134

return to top


what's new